Ruby Dee…

I know I’ve shared this more than once; but, since I’ve just turned to it again this morning, I’m inspired to share it again:

“This Ruby Dee quote totally reminds me of you, Mom,” my daughter, Michelle, wrote in an email she sent to me in 2015. I was flattered and believed in it then, as I still do today.

“I think you mustn’t tell your body, you mustn’t tell your soul, ‘I’m going to retire.’ You may be changing your [life’s] emphasis, but [there are] still things that you have in mind to do that now [seem] the right time to do. I really don’t believe in retiring as long as [I] can breathe.”

 

About shacoyo

Quasi-retired, freelance copyeditor. Web site: www.redline-editing.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

